Kosher Certification is the stamp of kosher approval by a rabbinic Agency verifying they have checked the products ingredients, production facility and actual production to ensure all ingredients, derivatives, tools and machinery have no trace of non kosher substances.
The Kosher Certified symbol assures consumers that both the actual product and its production adhere to all Kosher Law requirements.
Kosher laws have their origin in the Torah, and are detailed in the Talmud and the other codes of Jewish tradition. They have been applied through the centuries to ever-changing situations, and these rulings, both ancient and modern, govern the Kosher certification process.
You may already be familiar with some of the more well-known requirements, but you may be surprised at the extent of some of the more obscure regulations. The Torah lists the basic categories of food items which are not kosher. These include certain animals, fowl and fish (such as pork and rabbit, eagle and owl, catfish and sturgeon), and any shellfish, insect, or reptile. In addition, kosher species of meat and fowl must be slaughtered in a prescribed manner, and meat and dairy products may not be manufactured or consumed together.