The laws that provide the foundation for a kosher dietary pattern are collectively referred to as kashrut and are found within the Torah, the Jewish book of sacred texts. Instructions for practical application of these laws are passed down through oral tradition.
Kosher dietary laws are comprehensive and provide a rigid framework of rules that not only outline which foods are allowed or forbidden but also mandate how permitted foods must be produced, processed, and prepared prior to consumption
There is a certain degree of confusion when it comes to kosher foods, specifically when it comes to those who are new to the world of kosher or those who do not follow the kosher method but are looking to have a more thorough understanding of this aspect of Jewish people's culture.
In accordance with Jewish dietary law, kosher certified means meat and milk products are not mixed together, animal products from non-kosher food animals are not included, and kosher meat is from animals that are properly slaughtered.
Regarding which animals are kosher products and which ones are not, kosher animals are those with cloven (split) hooves who also chew their cud, which is digested food that returns from the stomach. Kosher status animals include cows, sheep, and goats.
These are the biggest requirements, but there are a number of other kosher ingredient requirements that must be met in order for something to be within kosher law.
Because of this, today, types of foods that are kosher are marked by the Kosher Alliance to make the process of finding kosher food items a bit easier.